• Home
  • News & Events
  • News
  • Finalists announced for the Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award

Finalists announced for the Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award

State Theatre Company is delighted to announce that three local playwrights are among the 37 writers nominated in the prestigious 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature.

Duncan Graham, Emily Steel and Peter Beaglehole have been shortlisted for the Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award, which is worth $12,500 and supports the commission and development of a new play with the assistance of the State Theatre Company.

Introduced by the State Government in 1986 and managed by Arts South Australia, the biennial event celebrates Australia’s writing culture by offering national and state-based literary prizes.

Duncan Graham, who will present Creditors in State Theatre Company’s 2018 season, has been shortlisted for his work Prodigal Jones, while Emily Steel (who presented Rabbits under this year’s State Umbrella) has been shortlisted for her 2017 Adelaide Fringe show, 19 Weeks.

Peter Beaglehole is shortlisted for Strata, the same play that saw him win the 2016 Flinders Young Playwright Award (Senior).

Premier and Minister for the Arts Jay Weatherill says the awards are “a great opportunity to highlight the very best of our literary landscape – both in South Australia, and nationally – and to reward excellence in the writing community.”

Arts South Australia Executive Director Peter Louca says:
“Through these prestigious biennial awards and fellowships, Arts South Australia supports the career development of writers across all genres, whose work can provide solace, illumination and meaning to so many, and hold a mirror to society.
“The high calibre of this year’s shortlist and the strong representation of South Australian authors proves our rich publishing and literary culture continues to thrive.”

Winners will be announced at a special ceremony at Adelaide Writers’ Week on Saturday, 3 March, as part of the 2018 Adelaide Festival.