The 7 Stages of Grieving

25 Jun — 4 Jul 2020
Space Theatre
  • Home
  • The 7 Stages of Grieving

State Theatre Company South Australia presents the Sydney Theatre Company production

By Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman

Subscribe to Season 2020

I guess we can't go back now.

One woman walks onstage to tell the stories of her people. Stories of survival. Of heartbreak. Of loss and of love. It is her story and she’s giving it to you.

Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman’s The 7 Stages of Grieving is an Australian masterpiece. In this reimagined production directed by Shari Sebbens, Helpmann Award-winner Elaine Crombie paints a rich portrait of the different phases of Aboriginal history in what is sure to be another of her tour de force performances.

Defiantly funny and deeply moving, The 7 Stages of Grieving is an invitation to join hands, to grieve, to reflect on our past and look to the future.

Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman are two of our greatest theatre minds. This classic and beloved Australian play should be revived every year as far as I’m concerned. Part-theatre, part-ceremony, part-meditation, this is a virtuoso vehicle for an actress. We’re lucky to have one of the best in the divine Elaine Crombie. Mitchell

The 7 Stages of Grieving contains coarse language and adult themes.


Shari Sebbens

Set & Costume Designer

Elizabeth Gadbsy

Associate Designer

Tyler Ray Hawkins

Lighting Designer

Mark Pennington

Composer & Sound Designer

Steve Francis


Elaine Crombie

Dates & Times

      • P
      • ON
Opening Night