• Home
  • News & Events
  • News
  • New Board Chair announced

New Board Chair announced

State Theatre Company South Australia is delighted to announce that Mr Joe Thorp has been appointed the new Chair of the Board.

Mr Thorp’s appointment follows the departure of Mr Justin Jamieson, who has been on the Board since 2011 and Board Chairman since late 2016.

State Theatre Company Executive Director Jodi Glass thanked Mr Jamieson for his outstanding contribution.

“It has been incredible working with Justin these past few years. Justin’s contributions to the Company have been significant and his expertise in finance, accounting, audit and risk, as well as his business acumen and connections, understanding of our Company, and networks have been invaluable to both the Board as well as the staff,” Ms Glass said.

“We are enormously grateful for Justin’s time and support and we thank Justin and his wonderful wife Lysia May for being generous donors and wonderful ambassadors for our Company.

Mr Thorp, who was appointed to the Board in September, brings a wealth of experience to State Theatre Company as a seasoned company director, Chairman and CEO across a range of industries spanning high tech commercialisation and start-up ecosystem leadership, foodservice equipment, manufacturing, energy utilities, HVAC, mining and construction services, health service, disability and education.

Mr Thorp said he was ‘delighted’ to be appointed as Chair.

“The Company has been an important part of my life since attending productions with my parents and with school in the 1970’s,” Mr Thorp said.

“State Theatre Company South Australia is a critical part of the arts industry in South Australia and nationally. I look forward to working with Mitchell, Jodi, the Board and the whole company, together with all our wonderful supporters, to present many seasons of enthralling, exhilarating, thought-provoking and entertaining theatre in the years ahead.”

State Theatre Company also welcomes new Board Member Mr David O’Loughlin, Chief Executive of KWP! and Deputy Chairman of Business SA, effective from 20 December 2019.

Mr O’Loughlin replaces Mr Simon Blewett, whose term on the State Theatre Company Board concludes at the end of this month alongside the terms of other long-serving Board members Hon Anne Levy AO and Mr Terence Crawford. Replacements for Ms Levy and Mr Crawford will be announced in due course.

Ms Glass said State Theatre Company South Australia sincerely thanked Mr Jamieson, Ms Levy, Mr Blewett and Mr Crawford for their amazing support, generous service and invaluable contributions to the Company.

“We look forward to working with Mr Thorp and Mr O’Loughlin and benefiting from the wealth of experience they will bring to the Board table and Company.”

– ends –