Education Show

State Theatre Company South Australia and Country Arts SA, in association with Flinders University present


By Emily Steel

Season Finished
Space Theatre, Adelaide Festival Centre

Dates & Times


Subscriber Briefing


Opening Night

We'll get there

School teacher Meg wants to start a new festival called “Euphoria” to celebrate everything her country town has to offer. Former student Ethan doesn’t think there’s much to celebrate at all, until he meets Annie and hatches a plan for a campervan escape. Meg’s husband Nick wants Meg to slow down, but there’s still so much to do – get grants, make run sheets, hurry to Adelaide to win the support of the Premier. She’s spinning fast. And the rest of the town is noticing.

An Antipodean Under Milkwood, Emily Steel’s Euphoria brings to life a South Australian regional community, full of love, pain, complexity and humour, with two virtuosic actors playing a range of idiosyncratic characters.

Informed by real conversations between Steel and people who live in these communities, Euphoria is a sharply observed play about the human habit of distracting ourselves from our most vulnerable parts.

How wonderful that Emily Steel’s delightful and deeply affecting work also rises from the 2020 ashes. I know that audiences will adore finally seeing James Smith and Ashton Malcolm shine on stage, as they give life to a host of unforgettable South Australian characters. A giant hug of a play. Mitchell


Run time: Approx. 80 minutes (no interval)

Content: contains strobe lighting, coarse language and adult themes referencing mental illness and suicide. Age guide – 15+

This project was commissioned by Country Arts SA and has been assisted by the Australian Government through the Ministry of the Arts’ Catalyst – Australian Arts and Culture Fund.

Euphoria will be touring regionally between 30 April and 15 June 2021, click here to find out more about the Regional Tour.

  • Director

    Nescha Jelk
  • Assistant Director

    Emma Richardson
  • Set & Costume Designer

    Meg Wilson
  • Lighting Designer

    Nic Mollison
  • Sound Designer

    Andrew Howard
  • Performer

    Ashton Malcolm
  • Performer

    James Smith

Dates & Times

Opening Night


Single tickets to Euphoria are now on sale!

Euphoria is also available as part of our 2021 Subscription Packages.

Bundle 4-6 plays to save up to 22% and get access to a range of exclusive benefits.


Subscriber Briefing

2021 Subscribers are invited to join us for exclusive Subscriber Briefings to learn more about the creation of the show.

The Euphoria subscriber briefing will be held on Wednesday 5 May, click here for more information.

Venue Access

Venue Access

Euphoria is being held at the Space Theatre, Adelaide Festival Centre.

The recommended Dunstan Playhouse and Space Theatre drop off zone is at the northern end of the Riverbank Footbridge on War Memorial Drive (walk across the Footbridge to Dunstan Playhouse) or at the Intercontinental Hotel (walk north between the Intercontinental Hotel and Railway Station along the lane way to the Riverbank). There is also a drop off area and two accessible car spaces on lower Festival Drive, accessible from the west via Montefiore Road.

Getting to the Venue

Adelaide Festival Centre is easily accessible by public transport, including the tram (stop at Railway Station), trains, buses and a free bus service that operates on a loop throughout the city and North Adelaide with stops on the corner of King William Road and North Terrace.

For more information visit

For information about parking near the Adelaide Festival Centre, please click here.


State Theatre Company South Australia is following advice from the Australian Government Department of Health and SA Health regarding the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and will continue to do so as the situation changes in South Australia and around the country. Please visit our Terms & Conditions of Sale page for COVID safe venue information.

Should conditions change, will provide updates via our website, social media, and/or direct communication with ticket buyers.

Before you attend an event, please read the pre-show email sent to ticket buyers to keep up-to-date with the latest guidelines. If you did not purchase your tickets, please ask the person who did to send you your pre-show email.